भारत निर्वाचन आयोग ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Tel. No. 011-23052144 निर्वाचन सदन,

Fax 011-23052001 Website: <u>www.eci.gov.in</u> **अशोक रोड**, **नई दिल्ली**-110001.

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001.

Dated:4th November, 2024

No. ECI/PN/155/2024

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Change of date of poll in bye elections for 14 Assembly Constituencies of Kerala, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh - regarding.

The Election Commission of India vide Press Note no. ECI/PN/150/2024 dated 15.10.2024 announced bye-election to 48 Assemblies Constituencies and 2 Parliamentary Constituencies of 15 States wherein the date of poll for all bye-elections except in 16-Nanded PC of Maharashtra and 07-Kedarnath AC of Uttarakhand, was fixed on 13.11.2024(Wednesday). The date of Counting and Completion of Poll with respect to above election are 23.11.2024 (Saturday) & 25.11.2024 (Monday) respectively.

- 2. Subsequently, representations have been received in the Commission from various recognised National and State political parties (including BJP, INC, BSP, RLD) and some social organisations for change of date of poll in some Assembly Constituencies having bye elections on 13th November 2024, considering large scale social, cultural and religious engagements on that day which may cause inconvenience to large number of people, give rise to various logistic issues and may lead to reduced voters participation during the poll.
- 3. The Commission, having considered these factors and representations, has decided to change the date of poll from 13.11.2024(Wednesday) to 20.11.2024 (Wednesday) in following 14 ACs for Bye-election: -

S1.	Name of State	Number and Name of	Notified	Revised
No.		AC	Date of Poll	Date of Poll
1.	Kerala	56-Palakkad	13.11.2024	20.11.2024
2.	Punjab	10- Dera Baba Nanak	(Wednesday)	(Wednesday)
3.		44-Chabbewal (SC)		
4.		84-Gidderbaha		

5.	Punjab	103-Barnala	13.11.2024	20.11.2024
6.	Uttar Pradesh	16-Meerapur	(Wednesday)	(Wednesday)
7.		29-Kundarki		
8.		56-Ghaziabad		
9.		71-Khair (SC)		
10.		110-Karhal		
11.		213-Sishamau		
12.		256-Phulpur		
13.		277-Katehari		
14.		397-Majhawan		

4. The date of Counting and Completion of Poll of the above-mentioned Assembly Constituencies shall remain unchanged i.e. 23.11.2024 (Saturday) & 25.11.2024 (Monday) respectively.

(SANJEEV KUMAR PRASAD) SECRETARY